Skip to main navigation.
Outage Reporting: 1.800.472.2983 or 701.939.6671

Annual Meeting

Thank you to all members who attend our 73rd Annual Meeting June 13th at our new outpost in Kenmare.  Check back for details on this year's meeting.

2018 Annual Meeting Highlights

Coming soon!


2017 Annual Meeting Highlights

MembershipBurke-Divide Electric Cooperative held its 72nd annual meeting June 14 at the cooperative’s headquarters in Columbus.  Around 240 members and families attended the event.

Reverend Janet Gwin led the group in the invocation.  The National Anthem was sung by Burke-Divide Electric member Harlan Johnson.  Vice President Haugland reported that 117 voting members were present.


Financial Report
Andrew Adams, Eide Bailly, LLP, presented the cooperative’s financial report.  Adams reported that the net margins for 2016 were $5,959,242 and total member equity stood at $28,826,897.  The cooperative received a clean audit opinion.


President and Manager’s Report
President Sigloh and Manager Jerry King presented a report on the past year of operations.


Sigloh reported that Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative reduced its rates on January 1, 2017, as a result of the removal of a WAPA drought adder. This is the second year in a row that Burke-Divide has brought rate relief to its membership.


Sigloh and King discussed the payment of capital credits, including the Present Value Offering in 2016.  This year, Burke-Divide retired capital credits for the years 2000 and 2001.


King noted that Burke-Divide’s growth leveled out in 2016, with that trend continuing into 2017.


King announced that Burke-Divide will build a new outpost in Kenmare.  The building will be identical to the Crosby Outpost, with expected completion by the end of 2017.


Sigloh discussed SmartHub, the cooperative’s new online account management system. This system allows the member to manage all aspects of the account online or with a mobile device.


King highlighted construction work plan projects including the Fay Substation, Norma Substation, Bowbells Substation, and automated metering infrastructure (“AMI”).


Sigloh noted that Burke-Divide is participating in the Rural Development Finance Corporation (“RDFC”) grant and will award two $1000 grants to eligible projects in the Cooperative’s service territory.


King announced that Burke-Divide is also participating in Co-Bank’s Sharing Success matching grant program in 2017 for certified 501(c)(3) non-profit organizations, schools, or fire departments.


The employees of Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative, Inc. introduced themselves to the membership.  King and Sigloh thanked the employees for their work at the cooperative and its members. 


President Sigloh and Manager King recognized employees and directors for their years of service to the cooperative.  Ethan Bahr, Kelly Bauer, Gabe Ellis, Logan Erickson, Kyle Helmers, Ken Keysor, Dustin Logelin, Tyler Orvedal, and Brooke Watterud were recognized for 5 years of service.  Lex Lindbo and Michael Powell were recognized for 10 years of service. Director Lynn Jacobson was recognized for 20 years of service.  Ethan Bahr was also recognized for his service in Kuwait over the past year.


Sigloh and King closed the report by thanking members for their continued support.


Youth Tour and Scholarships
Heidi Robbins, member services manager, recognized Burke-Divide Electric’s Youth Tour representative Harley Eckert and scholarship winners Brianna Honrud, Anne Johnson, and Kylee Nelson.


Operation Round Up
Heidi Robbins reported on Operation Round Up, a charitable giving program.  Robbins introduced the members of the Operation Round-Up Board.  Robbins reported that 13 grants, totaling $8,700, were awarded to area organizations in 2016.


Directors Re-elected
Members re-elected Kurt Koppelsloen and Jeff Dahlin to the Board of Directors.  Director Koppelsloen represents District 2.  Director Dahlin represents District 3.  Each will serve a three-year term.

Board of Directors

Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative Board of Directors (front left to right):  Lynn Jacobson (District 1), David Sigloh (District 3), Kent Haugland (District 1) (back left to right ): Kurt Koppelsloen (District 2),  Lane Titus (District 2), Jeff Dahlin (District 3),  and Steve Overlee (District 2).


Burke-Divide Electric Cooperative directors, management, and employees thank all members and families for attending your cooperative’s 72nd annual meeting.  We value your interest in the operation and success of your electric cooperative.


Additional photos from the 72nd annual meeting can be found on the cooperative’s Facebook page,

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo